Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Congregation Keneseth Israel records, 1950-1973.
BANC MSS 2010/928 oversize folder 1; BANC MSS 2010/928 box 1; BANC MSS 2010/928; BANC MSS 2010/928
Collection Overview

Title:

Congregation Keneseth Israel records, 1950-1973

Creator/Contributor:

Congregation Keneseth Israel (San Francisco, Calif.), creator, creator.

Creator/Contributor:

Western Jewish History Center, 165.

Creator/Contributor:

Judah L. Magnes Museum, WJHC 1972.009.

Creator/Contributor:

Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life

Abstract:

The collection contains by-laws, correspondence, membership lists, a contract with the congregation's Rabbi Morris Schwartz, memorial materials, photographs, rubbings from a bronze plaque that was in the last synagogue building, and two posters for visiting Cantor Ben-Menachim's high holiday services at Congregation Keneseth Israel.

Date:

1950 (issued)

Subject:

n-us-ca
Congregation Keneseth Israel (San Francisco, Calif.) -- Archives
Jews -- California -- San Francisco
Synagogues -- California -- San Francisco

Note:

Formerly: Western Jewish History Center Collection Number 165.
Formerly: Judah L. Magnes Museum Collection Number WJHC 1972.009.
COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE: Advance notice required for use.
Congregation Keneseth Israel records, BANC MSS 2010/928, The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.
Transfer; Judah L. Magnes Museum; 2010.
San Francisco's Keneseth Israel was an Orthodox congregation, founded from 1903-1904 in the city's South of Market District. After the 1906 earthquake and fire, the congregation's synagogue moved to the Fillmore-McAllister District. Its membership dwindled as the city's Jewish neighborhoods shifted to other parts of the city. In the 1970s, the building was sold to the San Francisco Redevelopment Agency. Eventually, the synagogue was razed and the land that it sat on was used for housing the elderly. The congregation moved to the Jack Tar (now Cathedral Hill) Hotel. The congregation still exists in downtown San Francisco.
Materials in English.

Type:

Correspondence-California-San Francisco.
Memorials-California-San Francisco.
Photographs-California-San Francisco.

Physical Description:

0.25 (1 1

Language:

English

Identifier:

2006566158
BANC MSS 2010/928 oversize folder 1
BANC MSS 2010/928 box 1
BANC MSS 2010/928
BANC MSS 2010/928

Origin:

California

Copyright Note:

COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE: Advance notice required for use.